–Spodee: Wine with a Kick (grape wine with natural chocolate flavor)

20130619_181529Week #27

Hello Fame Fare and happy 27th “recipe” from Car.

This recipe comes directly off the wine shelve of my local PA liquor store. I have been looking at all the wines they have and trying something new each weekend.  In doing so I came across: Spodee “wine with a kick.”

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Spodee: Wine with a Kick (grape wine with natural chocolate flavor)

Recipe Ingredients

There are a variety of suggested mixes for the wine at the Spodee website: http://spodeewine.com/

Recipe Directions

  1. See website

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Spodee: Wine with a Kick Review

When I came across this wine the milk jug type bottle intrigued me.  Upon reading the label I was further intrigued.  As you can see in the picture, per the label, Spoode is from the Depression era.

20130619_181656

I initially drank some straight and then per the other label, I made a Spodee and Sody. Lastly I made a drink equivalent to one on their website called “Spodee and the Sailor” which is Spodee, cola and rum.

20130619_183053

The taste of Spodee is rich and sweet.  The chocolate taste is more of an after taste than an initial hit your taste buds upon first sip.  At 18% alcohol content it really does live up to the “kick” in its name.

Though it was tasty straight, due to its richness, I don’t think I could drink it straight in large quantities. I will purchase it again.  I would like to try some of the other recipes on the Spodee website.  Perhaps the recession punch or even the  moonshine margarita!!

If you try Spodee and/or some of the recipes on their website, please comment as to which ones are the best!!  For now, bottoms up and enjoy a Spodee or two!!

I give Spodee a 3.5 chef star rating.

star chef icon ffstar chef icon ffstar chef icon ffstar chef icon ff half

Leave a Reply

